HR Reporting

Classic HR reporting deals with the regular determination of figures on the situation and development of the workforce (e.g. number of employees, personnel costs). Interdependencies, risk avoidance and the derivation of strategies and forecasts are usually a subordinate goal. The aim is to achieve an optimal relationship between personnel costs and the number of employees in the context of the company's economic development. Good classic reporting is the prerequisite for advanced reporting, and this in turn is the prerequisite for people analytics, i.e. for the analysis, evaluation and prediction of company developments based on combined personnel data.

Classic HR Reporting

(Step 1)

Advanced HR Reporting

(Step 2)

People Analytics

(Step 3)

Advanced HR reporting provides your company with important insights into the process, key figure and data world of your organization by linking the different data sources. It does not have to be that the collection of relevant data and the compilation in reports, dashboards and decision templates requires endless amounts of time and manual processing. The establishment of digital data collection, standardization and automation of reports and management dashboards as well as easy accessibility and interactive usability of the data are already possible today. Through the sustained observation of the development of company-relevant, targeted HR key figures, plan-actual comparisons can be carried out very quickly and deviations from goals and risks can be identified at an early stage and prompt optimization measures can be derived.

Our HR reporting offer is aimed at all companies that want to make their HR reporting leaner, simpler, more interactive, more automated and more digital. Regardless of which of the three levels (classic/advanced/analytics) you are at today, we offer you support to achieve your HR reporting target image.

Our offer focuses on the following areas:

We support you in developing a suitable, individual HR data strategy for your company. Such a strategy is particularly important when information and knowledge is to be generated from different data sources. When developing an HR data strategy, the concrete roadmap for the profitable use of personnel-relevant data for advanced reporting from internal and, if necessary, external sources is defined. For this purpose, goals, challenges and necessary framework conditions are worked out in the form of a structured plan for the strategy development of your company.

Shop Now

We work with you to obtain and process the relevant data that is required for professional HR reporting or for further analysis. In doing so, we follow the “Collect & Clean” principle in order to be able to identify and correct corrupted or inaccurate data records. Clean and valid data form the basis for further processing, a more in-depth analysis and are the key attributes for the meaningfulness of the results. When working with employee data, special care must also be taken with regard to data protection guidelines and the future legal basis (e.g. DSGVO). This requires close coordination with data protection officers and company committees, which we are happy to support if necessary.

Shop Now

Based on previous data preparation, data can be presented visually. We support and advise you on the use of a suitable visualization tool (we mainly work with Tableau, MS Power BI and Excel). There, the interesting HR data, relationships, operational and strategic key figures (KPIs) can be displayed in a visually comprehensible and interactive form, as a report, dashboard or via app. Data visualization helps to organize the information and improve understanding, interpretation and attention. Depending on the data source and update cycle of the respective data, such reports and dashboards can be updated automatically by establishing a connection between the data source and the visualization tool.

HR Reporting - HR Executive Dashboard

Human Resource Executive Dashboard, Source: Tableau Public (Showcase)

Depending on the metric, context and desire, a visual representation can take place, for example, as a scatter chart, bar chart, line chart, tree map, Watterfall chart or histogram.

Shop Now

To develop data skills and a data culture in your company, we offer you a mix of consulting, coaching and online training. We call our offer in this regard “Blended Journey Consulting”. This enables the employees in your HR department to carry out and expand HR data projects independently. The aim is not to turn HR employees into data scientists, but to develop basic skills that help to develop safe handling of data (data literacy). This also supports the establishment of a data culture (Data Driven Thinking).

Shop Now
HR Reporting_Support from HR Tech Consulting

Today too much capacity is still used for manual data collection and reporting processes. This can be done better. We recommend that companies - regardless of whether they are large, medium-sized or small companies - start optimizing their HR reporting immediately or continue on this journey!

We are happy to support you – contact us..

Some examples of HR data in your company:

  • HRIS data (HR information system)
  • Headcount and planning data (workforce data)
  • Personnel costs
  • Skill data (profiles and competencies available in the company)
  • Personnel development data (e.g. further training courses attended, certificates obtained)
  • Employee Satisfaction Data
  • Fluctuation data (e.g. length of service, number, reasons for change)
  • Performance data (e.g. performance, mobility)
  • Workplace data (e.g. mobile working, home office)
  • time management data
  • Health data (e.g. health rate, sick days)
  • Productivity data (e.g. utilization)
  • External sources

HR-Reporting

Klassisches HR-Reporting befasst sich mit der regelmäßigen Ermittlung von Zahlen zur Situation und Entwicklung der Belegschaft (bspw. Beschäftigtenanzahl, Personalkosten). Wirkungszusammenhänge, Risikovermeidung und die Ableitung zu Strategien und Prognosen sind dabei meist ein untergeordnetes Ziel. Zielsetzung ist ein optimales Verhältnis zwischen Personalkosten und Beschäftigtenanzahl, im Kontext der wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung des Unternehmens, zu erreichen. Ein gutes klassisches Reporting ist die Voraussetzung für fortgeschrittenes (advanced) Reporting und dieses wiederum ist die Voraussetzung für People Analytics, d.h. für die Analyse, Auswertung und Vorhersage von Unternehmensentwicklungen auf Basis von kombinierten Personaldaten.

Klassisches HR Reporting

(Stufe 1)

Fortgeschrittenes HR Reporting

(Stufe 2)

People Analytics

(Stufe 3)

Fortgeschrittenes (advanced) HR-Reporting liefert Ihrem Unternehmen wichtige Einblicke in die Prozess-, Kennzahlen -und Datenwelt ihrer Organisation durch Verknüpfung der unterschiedlichen Datenquellen. Dass die Sammlung von relevanten Daten und die Zusammenstellung in Reports, Dashboards und Entscheidungsvorlagen unendlich viel Zeit und manuelle Aufbereitung erfordert, muss nicht sein. Die Etablierung einer digitalen Datenerfassung, Standardisierung und Automatisierung von Reports und Management-Dashboards sowie die einfache Zugänglichkeit und interaktive Nutzbarkeit der Daten sind schon heute möglich. Durch die nachhaltige Beobachtung der Entwicklung unternehmensrelevanter, zielgerichteter HR-Kennzahlen, können Plan-Ist Vergleiche sehr schnell durchgeführt und damit Zielabweichungen und Risiken frühzeitig erkannt und prompte Optimierungsmaßnahmen abgeleitet werden.

Unser Angebot zum Thema HR-Reporting richtet sich an alle Unternehmen, die ihr HR-Reporting schlanker, einfacher, interaktiver, automatisierter und digitaler gestalten wollen. Unabhängig davon, auf welcher der drei Stufen (klassisch/fortgeschritten/Analytics) Sie sich heute befinden, wir bieten Ihnen Unterstützung zur Erreichung Ihres HR-Reporting-Zielbilds.

Unser Angebot konzentriert sich dabei auf folgende Schwerpunkte:

HR Reporting_Unterstützung von HR Tech Consulting

Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Entwicklung einer passenden, individuellen HR-Datenstrategie für ihr Unternehmen. Eine solche Strategie ist besonders dann wichtig, wenn Informationen und Wissen aus verschiedenen Datenquellen generiert werden soll. Bei der Entwicklung einer HR-Datenstrategie wird der konkrete Fahrplan zur gewinnbringenden Nutzung personalrelevanter Daten für fortgeschrittenes (Advanced) Reporting aus internen und ggf. externen Quellen definiert. Dazu werden Ziele, Herausforderungen und notwendige Rahmenbedingungen in Form eines strukturierten Plans für die Strategieentwicklung Ihres Unternehmenausgearbeitet.

Wir arbeiten mit Ihnen gemeinsam an der Beschaffung und Aufarbeitung der relevanten Daten, die für eine professionelle HR-Berichterstattung oder zu einer weiterführenden Analyse benötigt werden. Dabei folgen wir dem Prinzip „Collect & Clean“, um beschädigte oder ungenaue Datensätze identifizieren und korrigieren zu können. Saubere und valide Daten bilden die Grundlage für die Weiterverarbeitung, eine tiefergehende Analyse und sind die Schlüsselattribute für die Aussagekraft der Ergebnisse. Bei der Arbeit mit Mitarbeiterdaten ist außerdem eine besondere Sorgfalt in Bezug auf die Datenschutzrichtlinien und die zukünftige Rechtsgrundlage (z.B. DSGVO) zu beachten. Dazu ist eine enge Abstimmung mit Datenschutzbeauftragten und betrieblichen Gremien erforderlich, die wir bei Bedarf gerne unterstützen.

Auf Basis von vorangegangener Datenvorbereitung können Daten visuell dargestellt werden. Wir unterstützen und beraten Sie bei der Nutzung eines geeigneten Visualisierungstools (wir arbeiten v.a. mit Tableau, MS Power BI und Excel). Dort können die interessanten HR-Daten, Beziehungen, operative und strategische Kennzahlen(KPIs) in einer visuell erfassbaren und interaktiven Form, als Report, Dashboard oder via App dargestellt werden. Datenvisualisierung hilft die Informationen zu ordnen und Verständnis, Interpretation und Aufmerksamkeit zu verbessern. Je Datenquelle und Aktualisierungszyklus der jeweiligen Daten kann die Aktualisierung solcher Reports und Dashboard automatisiert durch Herstellung einer Verbindung zwischen Datenquelle und Visualisierungstool stattfinden.

HR Reporting - HR Executive Dashboard

Human Resource Executive Dashboard, Quelle: Tableau Public (Showcase)

Eine visuelle Darstellung kann je nach Metrik, Zusammenhang und Wunsch bspw. als Scatter Chart, Bar Chart, Line Chart, TreeMap, Watterfall Chart oder Histogramm stattfinden.

Für den Aufbau von Datenkompetenz (Data Skills) und einer Datenkultur (Data Culture) in Ihrem Unternehmen bieten wir Ihnen einen Mix aus Beratung, Coaching und Online-Training. Wir nennen unser diesbezügliches Angebot „Blended Journey Consulting“. Die Mitarbeiter Ihrer HR-Abteilung werden dadurch befähigt, HR-Datenprojekte eigenständig durchzuführen und auszubauen. Dabei geht es nicht darum, die HR-Mitarbeiter zu Datenwissenschaftlern zu machen, sondern grundlegende Kompetenzen aufzubauen, die dabei helfen, einen sicheren Umgang mit Daten zu entwickeln (Data Literacy). Dies unterstützt auch die Etablierung einer Datenkultur (Data Driven Thinking).

Heutzutage werden immer noch zu viele Kapazitäten für manuelle Datenerhebung und Reporting-Prozesse eingesetzt.Das geht besser. Wir empfehlen Unternehmen – egal ob Konzern, Mittelstand oder Kleinunternehmen – umgehend mit der Optimierung des HR-Reportings zu beginnen bzw. diese Reise fortzusetzen!

Wir unterstützen Sie dabei gerne – kontaktieren Sie uns.

Einige Beispiele für HR-Daten in Ihrem Unternehmen:

HRIS-Daten (HR-Informationssystem)

Personalbestands- und Planungsdaten (Workforce-Daten)

Personalkosten

Skill-Daten (im Unternehmen verfügbare Profile und Kompetenzen)

Personalentwicklungsdaten (z.B. besuchte Weiterbildungen, erlangte Zertifikate)

Mitarbeiterzufriedenheitsdaten

Fluktuationsdaten (z.B. Betriebszugehörigkeit, Anzahl, Wechselgründe)

Performancedaten (z.B. Performance, Mobilität)

Arbeitsplatzdaten (z.B. Mobile Working, Homeoffice)

Zeitwirtschaftsdaten

Gesundheitsdaten (z.B. Gesundheitsquote, Krankentage)

Produktivitätsdaten (z.B. Auslastung)

Externe Quellen